10 Fun Cheap Things to do this Summer

When I’m not writing my first novel or the latest blog post, I’m working at my full-time job as a non-traditional educator with a youth development program. For the past year and a half, I’ve learned so much about finding different activities for young children to get involved in throughout the year. School has ended for some, and getting very close to ending for others. I managed to find 10 fun, yet cheap things to do this summer. I don’t have any children, but I have nieces, nephews, and godchildren who are all expensive.

One of my goals this summer is to find cheap, fun activities to do with them. I have composed a list of 10 different activities to do at any location.

1) Complete a community service project.

Image courtesy of Rawich at FreeDigitalPhotos.net

Image courtesy of Rawich at FreeDigitalPhotos.net

If you know me then you know that I love doing community service project. It doesn’t matter how big or how small. Why not ask a group of friends or children to complete a small community service project. It could be something as simple as hosting a book bag or schools supplies drive or visiting the soup kitchen to feed the homeless.

2) Visit your local library.
You can not only check out books, but you play games on the computer and some libraries have different summer events for the entire family to participate in.

3) Play board games.
My sister’s children love playing cards especially UNO, which was a childhood favorite of mine too. If you catch a good board game during the Black Friday sales in November, you will have them ready to play during the summer.

4) Visit a museum.
Depending on the museum and exhibit, you may be able to attend for free. The best part about going to the museum that it is versatile. This is perfect for a family outing or date night.

5) Check out your community calendar.
This summer, I’ve noticed on Facebook people are creating “Free Summer Events” event page. On this event page, people are sharing different events going on in their community.

6) Do you have a little entrepreneur? Set up a lemonade stand.

Image courtesy of Stuart Miles at FreeDigitalPhotos.net

Image courtesy of Stuart Miles at FreeDigitalPhotos.net

My godchildren sold lemonade a few months ago. I thought it was the cutest thing ever. It’s very cheap. You need the materials to make lemonade, poster board, cups, and cute smiling faces!

7) Host a potluck cookout!
Invite your closest friends and family for a cookout. You cover the location and main item. Then ask your guests to bring the side items to complete a fun and entertaining cookout.

8) Park it!
Plan a local drive downtown and park your car. While you are there, visit the stores and restaurants. I enjoy shopping local and visiting area boutiques. You are able to find items that wouldn’t be available elsewhere.

9) Sprinklers! Water Balloons! Oh my!
Summer can be piping hot. If you are looking for something fun to cool off, turn on the sprinklers and buy some water balloons then have a water balloon fight.

10) Read a book.
One of my challenges for 2015 is to read as many books as possible. I’m currently reading #GirlBoss by Sophia Amoruso and I’d Rather Be With You by Mary B. Morrison. You can encourage reading as family and offer an incentive for the person who reads the most books similar to the Scholastic Summer Reading Program.

Did I miss anything? What’s another cheap summer activity? Share with me. 

26 thoughts on “10 Fun Cheap Things to do this Summer

    • Awww…that’s so cute! I didn’t grow up in a neighborhood. I always wanted to sell lemonade when I was little and make some summer change. Thanks for sharing!

  1. Yessss!!!! I LOVE this list! I am a teacher who believes adults and youth should follow this for the summer! (especially reading a book and visiting the library)

    • Great! Thanks for your response! I enjoy reading books and visiting the library. They have different activities going on especially during the summer. They can participate in an activity for free.

  2. Summer is such a fun time for families! I plan to do a lot of these. But I like the idea of parking downtown and browsing around the shops and restaurants.

    • I agree Stacie. It is a great time for families. I live in Charlotte so often my friends and I will just park the car and walk around. My goal is to visit other areas around Charlotte to go exploring this summer.

  3. We are big fans of board games and I enjoy playing them at school (I am a teacher). I also would recommend to have a potluck… always a fun thing to do at the local park!

  4. This is such a great list! So often we kids just get caught up inside. I love the throwbacks to things we used to do (sprinklers and water balloons and board games), and I am a huge fan of summer reading programs/challenges and visiting local libraries!

    • I can remember playing in the sprinklers as a child. It was so much fun. I’m trying to incorporate more reading at my job for the youth. Thanks for reading!

Leave a Reply

