Cucumbers! How to make Easy, Yummy Pickles

CAMPING WALKTHROUGHS NO. 6 (1)This summer, I started my first raised garden. I will give you all more information this fall about starting a raised garden. I grew my favorite summer time veggies – green beans, watermelon, and cucumbers. I love cucumbers, but I wasn’t expecting my garden to produce as many as it did. I was contemplating the different ways to eat or prepare a cucumber without becoming bored with them.

IMG_20150702_145049848_HDR

Cucumbers growing well in the garden

During one of my job’s summer day camps, I was introduced to Icebox Cucumber Pickles. Can you say perfect timing?!? Plus, I absolutely love pickles!

What’s an Icebox Cucumber Pickle exactly? Most pickles are made and prepared with a pressure cooker or actual canner to properly preserve the cucumbers. An Icebox Cucumber Pickle is way easier, and you can enjoy them within an hour versus waiting weeks or longer to partake of the tart goodness.

These pickles are perfect for any summer picnic or your next Labor Day cookout! I shared a jar of mine at a Fourth of July cookout with my sorority sister’s family, and they loved it! They have become my staple pot luck food item!

Finished ProductThis recipe was inspired by a recipe in Southern Living magazine, but I switched some ingredients around to make it more fitting for me.

Here’s the Recipe:

Yield: 2.5 qts ( I used one quart mason jar and three pint mason jars)

Ingredients:

2 1/2 cups of granulated sugar
2 cups of apple cider vinegar
1/4 cup canning-and-pickling salt
1/2 teaspoon ground turmeric
2 teaspoons dried dill
1 teaspoon ground mustard seeds
10 medium cucumbers, cut into 1/8-inch slices
1/2 yellow onion, minced into tiny pieces with grater

Preparation:

1. Cook granulated sugar, vinegar, salt, turmeric, dill, and ground mustard seeds over high heat, and stir occasionally. Heat the mixture until sugar dissolves. Make sure you don’t boil it. You don’t want it to caramelize. I wouldn’t suggest taste testing the mixture because it is very hot!

2. Place cucumbers and onions in your designated mason jar. It’s not mandatory to use a mason jar, but it needs to be an airtight container for the mixture to effectively do its job. You want to create a layer pattern with the cucumbers and onions. I start with the cucumbers then add about a teaspoon of onions, and continue the process until the jar is at least 3/4 filled.

3. Pour the tangy mixture over the cucumbers and onions.

4. Seal the jar, and immediately place in the refrigerator.

5. Let the freshly made pickles cool in the “ice box” for about an hour to serve immediately, or refrigerate in jars for up to 2 weeks.

**Words of Advice: The longer you let the pickles sit, the better they will taste!**

What’s your favorite summer time recipe?

17 thoughts on “Cucumbers! How to make Easy, Yummy Pickles

  1. I LOVE THIS! I was just thinking I want to try my hand at making pickled cucumbers! I will be pinning this and trying it very soon! Thanks for sharing!

Leave a Reply

