Daily No-Navigation: Where’s the novel?

dailynonavigationgraphicMore than two years ago, I started the quest to become a self-published author. It all began in middle school, I used to write fictional short stories and submit it for a grade. There was always a happy ending to each story. I was a fan of sappy romances even at 13-years-old. My seventh grade English teacher praised my creativity for storytelling. Anyways, fast forward to 2013, I discovered NaNoWriMo, which is National Novel Writing Month. It’s really popular to aspiring and current writers. I thought this was the perfect opportunity to make my dream of writing a novel a reality.

I did it all.

Researched the information about writing a novel.

Created a new board on Pinterest specifically for writing a novel.

Developed the plot and conflict.

Discovered my main character – Daiely.

And, voila, Daily Navigation was born.

What’s Daily Navigation exactly? Here’s a brief synopsis:

Daiely had the job of her dreams, and madly in love with her college sweetheart. With less than a year in her contract at a local architect firm, she was preparing to move with her love to Arizona. Everything was going great until it all crumbles like dominoes. 

She is forced to navigate her shifted life, and find herself again. Through this journey, Daiely rediscovers faith, hope, and most importantly – love.

I knew writing this novel would be a no brainer. I set a long term goal to complete the book within a year. I’ve been writing for 20 plus years. I knew I would be able to finish within my timeline.

Right?!?

WRONG!

It’s 2015, and NaNoWriMo will be back next month. And guess what, I’m still writing Daily Navigation. I have mentally given up on the book at least 10 times within the past two years. With balancing work and life, I lost track of making time to write. Then, I have moments like now when I want to write, but it becomes more like work than something to do leisurely.

A few weeks ago, I spoke to one of my sorority sisters, who is also my career coach, about Daily Navigation. I shared that I was nervous about what happened after the book was finished.

Will the readers like it?

Are they going to purchase the book?

The list went on and on.

Her response was to redirect my focus for the book. Instead of focusing on what happens afterwards, then I should focus on finishing it for my own personal accomplishment. That conversation helped me to regain focused on the project. I stalled one chapter for months, and I completed it last week. Yay me! I started the next chapter. I realized the long term goal wasn’t as helpful so instead, I’m setting smaller goals for the week to at least write 500 words or more.

I’ve longed to become an author, and it’s time to get it done! I hope you will join in for the “Daily Navigation.”

Have you missed your deadline on a goal? Did you pick up the pieces and keep going or give up?

28 thoughts on “Daily No-Navigation: Where’s the novel?

  1. Crystal, I believe in you and I look forward to reading your first self-published book. Don’t worry about if people will buy it or not, write because you love writing and you want to put your work out in the world. Do it for the love of it. I’m reading the book ” Big Magic” by Elizabeth Gilbert and she talks about the challenges of being a creative and her journey to where she is today. It’s a very inspiring read that I highly recommend.

    ~Siobhan
    http://www.befreeproject.com

    • Thanks Siobhan for believing in me and giving me an extra push! I actually checked out “Big Magic” from the library. It’s on my to-do list. I heard great things about it, and I can’t wait to read it. Be on the lookout because I’ve been writing for me!

  2. I have missed plenty of deadlines but I have found, especially when it’s a creative process, that I need to just continue to stay active with it and not put too much weight on it. I started writing a book around 2005 and only look at it from time to time and write a little and them leave it. My feeling is, when it’s time comes, it will just flow.

    Good luck on your journey.

  3. In life, we will miss many deadlines and our goals will be put on hold due to schedule conflicts. One of the great things about your post is that you have someone to remind you why you started writing “Daily Navigation” to begin with. Good luck!

  4. Glad to see that you got that extra boost to continue your writing journey. Sometimes just a simple conversation can give us a different viewpoint on the same problem, and allow us to see things in a different light that motivates us to take the next step.

  5. congrats on writing your first novel. I’m always missing deadlines. They’re great to have, but it’s always awesome when you’ve completed your task.

  6. I try to stick to deadlines when I set them for myself. Gives me a path. I have thought about writing a book, just never finished. I was just thinking about finding time to get back to that.

    • In the long run it would be so fulfilling just knowing that you accomplish it. I am working on sticking to deadlines. When I was mid-way I had a writing schedule, but I haven’t set a new one yet. It worked though.

  7. While Im not writing a book I can certainly relate to the struggles and various feelings during the process. I’m cheering you on.

  8. Pingback: Truth be Told: Here’s 10 Reasons Why I’m Thankful | Being Starkey

  9. Pingback: Lessons Learned | Magic Happens when Girls Write In | Being Starkey

  10. Pingback: First Comes Love, next comes… | Being Starkey

Leave a Reply

