How joining a sorority changed my life

howjoiningsororityTen years ago, I made the decision to join a sorority. It wasn’t just any sorority, it was Sigma Gamma Rho Sorority, Inc. The organization was founded on November 12, 1922 by seven school teachers who created the organization under the premise of providing “greater service, greater progress.” Sigma Gamma Rho has changed my life in many ways. As a member of the illustrious organization, my and it taught me sisterhood, service, and leadership.

Sisterhood

Courtesy by Raw Photo

7 Degrees of Sigma — 10 Years Later Photo by Raw Photo

While I was making a decision on which organization was best for me, I started doing my research. I grew up around every black greek organization, but I didn’t know any Sigma Gamma Rhos. It wasn’t until after my freshman year at Winthrop University, I met a member at my cousin’s wedding. She used to go to my high school back in Summerville. I remembered my teacher cadet teacher speaking so highly of her. I low-key looked up to her, especially as a first generation college student, and she was so nice. In the fall, I was invited to a meet and greet by the Winthrop chapter of Sigma Gamma Rho. I saw her again. She shared about the sisterhood in the sorority. I didn’t have to hear about it because I saw it. The Lambda Kappa chapter was welcoming, friendly, and nice. You could tell they genuinely cared about each other. It was that moment when I knew that I wanted to join the organization. The following year, I joined the illustrious sorority with six wonderful young ladies. We all came from different walks of life, but we had the same common purpose – Sigma Gamma Rho. We learned about what it meant to be a sister to each other. Even today, I’m thankful for them. We just celebrated our 10 year reunion, and it feels like yesterday although we have boyfriends, husbands, and kids now. If someone was to ask me what was sisterhood, I’d tell them that it’s a relationship between a group of women. In any relationship, there’s good times, but also bad times. I have a birth sister, and we don’t always get along. However, I still love her the same. It’s the same way in a sorority. The sisterhood goes beyond any disagreement, separation, etc. It’s about the real love from within, and it won’t go away. We pray, laugh, prowl, and serve together! I love my SISTERS especially Seven Degrees!

Service

Theta Eta Sigma 2013

Theta Eta Sigma 2013

Prior to joining Sigma Gamma Rho Sorority, Inc., I volunteered regularly for different organizations. However, it wasn’t until I joined the sorority when I realized the impact my service had on the community. Sigma Gamma Rho’s mission is to enhance the quality of life within the community through public service, leadership development, and education of the youth, which are the hallmark of the organization’s programs and activities. Sigma Gamma Rho addresses concerns that impact society educationally, civically, and economically. The organization prides itself on service. I’ve volunteered for many different community groups and causes. It wasn’t because I wanted to show off, to meet service hour requirements, or post it on social media. I did it because I was genuinely

interested in the betterment of the community. My experience of service led me to my career in 4-H as the agent. I honestly owe Sigma Gamma Rho Sorority, Inc. for introducing the philosophies of giving back and making a difference. Sigma Gamma Rho Sorority, Inc. made me a better giver!

Leadership

The Sophisticated Southeastern Region Syntaktes Rasheeda Liberty often shares truth messages about leadership. There are two recent quotes that stood out to me. “Leadership is defined by results, not attributes,” and “A great leader stays committed to their decisions, but is flexible with the approach. There is more than one way to deliver results.” I remember when I first joined the sorority, I was nominated for the editor-in-chief of the Rhoyal Notes. Go figure, I was a mass communications major! However, I saw it as such a small role in the organization. I was ready to leap into a leadership role, but I didn’t really think about everything it entailed. I had to write the pieces, lay the newsletter out, and post it throughout campus. The following years, I held various other leadership roles focusing on the results and winning awards. Fast forward to 7 years, I was elected the president of the local graduate chapter. Again, I was ready to jump head first into that role. I was trained and groomed to become the president. However, it was the toughest learning experience ever!!! I had a group of ladies watching my every move (not literally). I was their leader. I needed to deliver results. It meant that I needed to learn how to be flexible. If one program didn’t work best one way, then let’s re-group and try it again. I’ve been able to also utilize those skills professionally. The leadership skills that I’ve gained so far as a member has groomed me for greater and better things.

So in a nutshell, if someone asks me why I joined Sigma Gamma Rho, I would respond to become a part of a circle of sisters, serve the community, and become a leader. Happy Founders’ Day Sigma Gamma Rho Sorority, Inc!

One thought on “How joining a sorority changed my life

  1. Pingback: Truth be Told: Here’s 10 Reasons Why I’m Thankful | Being Starkey

Leave a Reply

