Truth be Told:: I Used to be Skinny

TYPE DESIGN (1)More than 10 years ago, I set out on a quest to lose weight and become physically fit. It was my freshman year at Winthrop University with all of the best resources to create a healthy lifestyle – wellness center, free (already included in room & board fees) food, weight room, walking trails (if you count the sidewalk throughout campus), and a network of other people with the same focus.

207160_507984578126_4796_nAs a teenager, I was always a curvy girl. However, I started gaining weight by my senior year, but I didn’t notice it until my then-boyfriend mentioned it. I didn’t take it seriously until we broke up. At that moment, I thought it was because of my weight. (Yes, I was very shallow.) I began my movement to a healthy lifestyle. I worked out regularly. I chose healthier food options. The pounds dropped. I lost more than 30 pounds in less than a year. I went from wearing a comfortable 12-14 to a 9/10 (I honestly was probably close to 7/8, but I will never admit it). I remember my wellness counselor asking me the ultimate goal, and I probably told her to be healthy. However, I was thinking to knock my ex off his feet once he saw me. (Again, yes I was very shallow and naive.) The summer after my freshman year, I accomplished that goal. I impressed him with my new body. My mission was complete.

Fast forward to a few years later, I gained weight again. I realized then that when I originally started the quest, it wasn’t for me. This is my body, but I was more concerned about other people’s opinion of it. Now at 30, I am the heaviest than I’ve ever been. I finally realize just how important my health is not for anyone else, but me. My goal is to choose healthier options, exercise more, and have the same motivation like I did in college, but remember that the reason why I’m doing it is for me – body, heart, & soul.

16 thoughts on “Truth be Told:: I Used to be Skinny

  1. I completely here you on this one. I have always struggled with my weight, for pretty much as long as I can remember. I have lost weight plenty of times before only to put the weight back on. I am also working on losing weight FOR GOOD this time! Good luck on your journey!

  2. We all trying to loose weight it’s a long process for me too. So long as you are at peace with yourself its should not matter….You will lose weight and become skinny again.

  3. I think that we can all relate to making those types of decisions when young. The beautiful thing about becoming more mature is coming to the exact realization that you’ve come to. You have to do it for yourself, not anyone else. Greatest of luck to you!

  4. I am at my heaviest too. I also lost weight in tbe past and gained it back. It is really hard to make these life changes. But we can do it.

  5. The only things that really work are the things that you do for yourself, otherwise you are always fighting multiple emotional fights, so kudos to you for taking on being healthier for yourself.

  6. Im on that journey to 30 too and food is just sticking to me! They always told me this day would come and its here…God is telling me you had all these years to eat freely and now I have to work to keep it off. I must start exercising (my friend thought I was pregnant last week hurt my feelings).

  7. Pingback: Truth be Told: Here’s 10 Reasons Why I’m Thankful | Being Starkey

  8. Pingback: The 10 Best Workout Songs from 2015 - Dear Darrica

Leave a Reply

