Truth be Told: Here’s 10 Reasons Why I’m Thankful

Happy Thanksgiving Friends!

Today is the day when you gather with your close friends and family, and reflect on the things or moments that you are thankful for in your life. Since I don’t live too close to my family, I normally spend Thanksgiving with my sorority sister’s family. They took me in on the holidays and special events. Instead of having dinner Thursday, my family is taking a more contemporary approach and having dinner Saturday (my sister works retail). I digress.

I wanted to share with you all 10 reasons why I’m thankful this year.

  1. God
    I have always had a relationship with God. However, I am building a stronger and closer relationship with Him.
  2. Health
    My health is extremely important, and if you read my post last week then you read my challenge to lead a healthier life. Since then, I have been working on eating healthier meals, watching my portion size, removing salt from my daily diet, and finding non-traditional ways to move more (ie. pulling weeds out of my garden, creating an assembly line to stuff bags for work, and taking an extra walk around the building).
  3. My Family & Real Friends
    My family and friends mean everything to me. They have all shaped my life to make me who I am today.
  4. TWH
    He’s just awesome that’s all!
  5. My Career with 4-H
    I’ve been blessed with a great new career in 4-H. I’ve watched myself grow from being a bashful, list taker to a more verbal, confident person.
  6. Sanctuary Charlotte Church
    I’ve experienced the majority of my spiritual growth this year. I’m reading and learning more about His word.
  7. Support System of Writers
    One thing I’ve learned is that it’s important to have a support system in everything that you do. Sure, you can do it by yourself, but it helps to have a support team to cheer you on or push you just a little harder.
  8. A Serving Heart
    I love serving and making a difference in the community. I’m extremely thankful to be able to serve effortlessly.
  9. Sorority Sisters
    My sorority sisters, especially 7 Degrees, are a group of women willing to put their personal thoughts and feelings aside for the betterment of one cause – to enhance the quality of life in the community.
  10. Ability to Write
    As I wrap up Daily Navigation‘s first draft, I am thankful for the ability to be able to write. Tuesday night, I met one of my favorite authors, Omar Tyree, at Cocktails & Conversation hosted by Fly T Entertainment in Charlotte. I was in total awe. He was one of the reasons why I started writing.

Now, it’s your turn. What are you thankful for this Thanksgiving?

P.S. This is the response to The Write Block writing prompt for yesterday.

Leave a Reply

