Truth Be Told: I Didn’t Get It Done

There’s no better way to say it – I didn’t get it done! If you’ve been following Being Starkey, then you know that I set out a quest this past month to finish my first novel Daily Navigation during NaNoWriMo or NaBloPoMo.

Before I started the challenge, I shared a few ways to stick with a writing schedule. Here are the ways, and how I managed them:

  • Reduce the amount of time I spend on social media – I stayed consistent.
  • Utilize my weekend for writing – This is where it didn’t work! I should’ve balanced my schedule better because every weekend there was something going on from sorority events, homecoming, and traveling. My weekends were swamped! 
  • Spend less time flipping through the television channels – I scheduled my writing around my television shows, but it’s the holidays and Hallmark channel will distract me. 
  • Keep phone conversations to daily commute to and from work – This is a normal routine. 
  • Exercise regularly with writing prompts – I actually created writing prompts to help me move from each chapter. It really helped. 
  • Develop an accountability partner or group – I joined different writer groups, but I never ASKED for support to help me stay on track.
  • Don’t Quit! – I didn’t quit, but I didn’t get it done. I managed to wrap up Chapter 14 at least, and start Chapter 15.

What have I learned from this experience? Everything we does come with lessons. Unfortunately, at times, our lessons are harder than others.

  • NNNNOOOOO!!!!! One of my main lesson is to learn how to say NO! I’m still learning it, but I feel like I can be everything to everybody. It doesn’t work that way. I have to consider my needs and work on those for me. I over committed myself with most things that aren’t beneficial to me.
  • Be consistent! This is the number rule from most authors and bloggers. It helps you build momentum and good following if you remain consistent in everything that you do.
  • Stick to One! I tried to participate in #NaNoWriMo and #NaBloPoMo at the same time. I will not do that again. Granted, it helped me to exercise my writing when I wasn’t working on the book, but I was trying to challenge myself to accomplish too much in 30 days.
  • Never lose your stuff! When I first started working on my book, I developed an outline using notecards. Bad move. I lost it a few months ago. I knew my end result of my book, but I missed some vital details. It literally slowed me down. This month, I outline the remainder two chapters of my book, which helped me out a lot.
  • Get Creative! Instead of writing, I spent time visualizing what I wanted to accomplish with my book. When I wasn’t writing, I was looking and examining book covers to determine what I wanted for mine. I designed some book cover options for Daily Navigation. I’ll show you all soon. I secured an editor for my book. I managed and accomplished the small things.

So did I get it done – not at all, but I developed some new strategies and know now what to do in order to accomplish my goal. Truth be told, I’m ecstatic because I might not have finished writing the book, but I’ve accomplished so much more. For my friends and supporters, it’s coming very soon.

❤ Starkey

 

 

2 thoughts on “Truth Be Told: I Didn’t Get It Done

    • It motivated me to actually picture what was my overall goal of my novel. How far did you get on your novel? Good luck to you as well, and thanks for the support!

Leave a Reply

