The Do’s & Don’ts to Creating a Vision Board

The Do's & Don'ts to creating a Vision BoardLast week, I hosted a vision board party, and invited a few of my friends. I’ve created vision boards on and off for a few years. Are you familiar with a vision board?

Yes, then you are in great shape. If you aren’t, then here is a general explanation of a vision board. According to Make a Vision Board, “A vision board is a tool used to help clarify, concentrate and maintain focus on a specific life goal. Literally, a vision board is any sort of board on which you display images that represent whatever you want to be, do or have in your life.”

starkeyvisionboard

My First Vision Board

My first vision board was hideous. I can admit that now. It had no real direction, and my goals weren’t immediate (it was going to take more than a year for most of those items).

2015 Vision Board

2015 Vision Board

This past year, I created a more effective vision board. I was so pleased with the results that I wanted to get my girls involved with this great tool. I strategically planned my board with only one year in mind. I thought about what I wanted to achieve and accomplish versus including random quotes and pictures which meant very little to my purpose and goals.

1914010_10100716172955906_1656447853221027044_n

2016 Vision Board

During the vision board party, I shared a few do’s and don’ts to creating a great vision board. Instead of just letting my friends have all of the juice, I decided to share with you all too!

Don’ts:
Too Far Fetched – As I mentioned earlier, the problem with my very first vision board was that it was too broad. I had both short-term and long-term goals wrapped into one vision board. Sure, I want to plan my dream wedding, but realistically how can I do that when I haven’t met the dream guy (at least back then – wink, wink). Also, how can you include a picture of Ferrari on your vision board, but you live on a Ford budget like myself?

Too Cluttered – I am a fan of a good collage, but you don’t want your vision board to be too cluttered. Your vision board should be balanced by quotes, photos, graphics, etc. If it’s too cluttered then your vision will become too distracting, and lose its essence.

No Action – What’s a plan with an action? Words leading you nowhere. You should have the same concept for your vision board. Your vision board should come with some form of action. You can plot your visual goals on your board, and compose a strategic list of goals or promises.

Keep it Hidden – My first vision board was virtual. I didn’t print it out or save it as my desktop image on my computer. I honestly only looked at it when I told my friends or family about the board. You can’t keep it hidden!

Do’s:

Make it Visible – Find a spot in your home or work place to post your vision board. You need to make sure it is visible. I place my vision board near my bedroom door. It’s at eye length so that I can look at it every time I walk out of the door. Sometimes, I sit on my bed and reflect on the board to see how far I’ve come with it.

Represent Your Purpose – It’s important when setting any goals that it represents your purpose. If you have random and sporadic goals that won’t lead you in any direction, then you aren’t able to fulfill your purpose.

Plan. Plan. Plan. – According to Business Dictionary.com, a plan is “a written account of intended future course of action (scheme) aimed at achieving specific goal(s) or objective(s) within a specific timeframe. It explains in detail what needs to be done, when, how, and by whom,…” When you are creating a vision board, you have to plan what you want to put on it. I suggested that everyone have a general idea of their focus for their vision board then start sorting through the different magazines and pulling out pages then cutting to pasting onto their board.

Take it a Step Further – Now that you’ve created an awesome vision board, you can take it a step further and develop a strategic plan with a timeline on fulfilling the information.

What are the do’s and don’ts that you’ve learned creating your vision board?

28 thoughts on “The Do’s & Don’ts to Creating a Vision Board

  1. I agree about keeping it visible. Last year I didn’t have the space to hang it anywhere in my home so I took a picture of the board and made it the screen saver on my phone. You have to keep it in sight. 🙂

    • I like that idea about making it your screensaver. We always use our phones or some form of electronic device so why not make it visible there. I’m glad you enjoyed the piece.

  2. Great tips and just in time for my vision board party with friends next week. I think vision boards are so powerful when used properly. I am excited to use and share your tips next week.

    Tia (PenniesInMyPocket.com) #BLMgirl

  3. This was right on time. I am going to a vision board party this weekend. I have never created one (which is surprising. I am a very visual person). Maybe that’s why I’ve had issues sticking with my goals. SMH! Great post. Thanks for sharing!

  4. I’ve never created a vision board! Every year I say I’m going to do it right before the new year and I never get around to it. I love the concept and I’ll definitely be utilizing your dos and don’ts when I make one – which will be sooner rather than later!

    LiveLifeWell,
    Allison

Leave a Reply

