5 Simple Ways to Thank Your Mentor

MayaAngelouQuote
January marks the 15th year of National Mentoring Month. According to National Mentoring Month, “Mentoring is linked to improved academic, social and economic prospects for your people, that ultimately strengthens our community.” I can attest to this. I’ve been mentored by many people in my 30 years of life. They’ve ranged from professional, personal, and spiritual mentors.
Can you compile a list of 5 to 7 mentors who’ve impacted your life?
You shouldn’t have to think too hard to come up with a list.
Now, how have you thanked them?
On January 21st, you can thank them properly on Thank Your Mentor Day. In case you are in search for ways to thank them, I’ve discovered five simple ways to make it happen. I promise both you and they will love it.
1) Write a Thank You Card
11034230_10100530103251086_5801215719991325895_nTake a moment to jot down a few caring words thanking your mentor for their time and service. You have no idea how much of an impact it will have on their life. You can e-mail or mail the card to them! The possibilities are endless.
2) Fill out a Because I Said I Would Promise Card in their honor
IMG_20160118_172116867Last month, I told you all about the Because I Said I Would movement by Alex Sheen. The idea is to write a promise card to help hold yourself accountable. You can simply write a promise card to become a mentor like your mentor.
3) Send them a DIY Gift

Follow Crystal’s board My DIY ideas…. on Pinterest.//assets.pinterest.com/js/pinit.js

Pinterest is my best friend. You can easily find a DIY thank you gift idea for any mentor. It could be your childhood mentor or professional mentor.
4) Show your gratitude on social media
Createherstock Happy New Year Pack 7
One of the easiest ways to show your gratitude is to shout them out on social media. Social media is the craze. Why not, let everyone know how important your mentor is/was in the development of who you are today.
5) Pay it Forward
PayitForward (1)
The best way to thank your mentor is to pay it forward. You can become a mentor to someone else. If you are looking for mentoring opportunities, especially working with the youth, you can visit www.nationalmentoringmonth.org for more information.
5 thoughts on “5 Simple Ways to Thank Your Mentor

  1. Very cool! I don’t have an official mentor, but some amazing people have been there to answer some really tough questions and provide advice along the way. I’ll definitely try a couple of these ideas.

  2. Wow, there really is a celebration/day for ev-er-y-thing! This is great because I always talk about my mentors. I sent TY cards and special treats to a couple of them over the holidays. I’m going to definitely incorporate a few of these before the month is over. I love paying it forward!

Leave a Reply

